Friday, 29 April 2011

Libya, Update

Worried about the Libyan Freedom Fighters? Ask them yourself.

The Libyan Exchange,
will air on our website http://feb17.info// this Sunday, May 1, 2011 at 2pm EST/6pm GMT. Our guest will be Dr. Tarik Yousef, Senior fellow at the Brookings Institute and Dean of the Dubai School of Government. Our topic is ‘’What Makes Libya Different?’’ Why did the Arab Spring turn so violent when it reached Libya after having been relatively peaceful in neighboring Tunisia and Egypt?
Email your questions to: Feb17questions@gmail.com in English.


Not sure what to make of this





"At a press conference at Rixos Hotel tonight, Moussa Ibrahim presents children with a poster they made for William and Kate" http://feb17.info//










CAUTION HATE CRIME VID



Hi Mal, welcome

Thursday, 28 April 2011

The Wedding, 2

To help you sit back and enjoy the Wedding Of The Century here are some examples of the tasteful and considerate items available to help you to treasure the memories and for you to boast about having been there to your grandchildren.

UPDATE The Kiss. h/t Mark Wadsworth

















I'll probably watch here Youtube Royal Wedding where the BBC coverage will be streamed live but without the annoying bloody commentary. From 10am GMT.
2am (PST), 5am (EDT), 10am (BST), 11am
(CEST ie Europe), 2:30 (IST), 7pm (EST), 9pm (NZST).

Wednesday, 27 April 2011

Dept. of WTF? pt 16: Slurry

I arrived home to a full colour glossy leaflet from my local Council detailing the joys of Footway Slurry Seal



This, you will be delighted to learn, is the process of pitching bitumen onto knackered pavements (US = broken sidewalks) thus putting off the need to repair them properly. It included the advice not to walk or drive on the bitumen for one hour after it had been laid.




My research led me to "φsl,v is the solids fraction of the slurry on a volumetric basis" but to most normal people "slurry" means cow shit.

Yes, OK, fine, feel free to repair the footpaths after last winters ravages but no, I don't need an expensively designed, produced and distributed lealflet when in the past all that was needed was a sign banged up by convicts "Wet Tar, Keep Off".

Scott Andrew,

Welcome.

Saturday, 23 April 2011

The Wedding

I was planning a softly softly final approach to the Royal Wedding but Oh What Now! blog brought my attention to this.



I think that everyone in Britain will have seen it, its been on telly and everything but it might amuse our overseas friends. Presented as a practise run it is an advertising spoof with body doubles of incredible likenesses and bears many reruns to spot the details.

Kate, Camilla, Prince Harry and the Archbishop of Canterbury are particularly good, all that is missing is David Cameron in his dreary lounge suit.

A particular welcome to How Yea fixed and congratulations on becoming my 100th follower.

Thursday, 7 April 2011

Skateboarding is not a crime

Update

@Banned, Skateboarding is not a crime July 8th. 2009

Caution, expletives not deleted.

Comments, if any, on the original post please (as per the link above).

Monday, 4 April 2011

Anonymous, a question



While generally approving the aims and methods of Anonymous I don't wish to open a discussion about them but I do have one question about this vid.



What is the tune?

Answer on a postcard please.